Close this search box.
Close this search box.

Scientific Advisory Committee

The Epilepsy Research Institute’s SAC is a panel of the UK’s leading neurologists, neuroscientists and epilepsy researchers. These epilepsy research experts sit alongside non-scientific ‘experts by experience’ and advise the Board of Trustees on scientific matters, including the annual research grant funding process

Prof Simon Keller

Chair in Imaging Neuroscience University of Liverpool

Prof Michael Cousin (Chair)

Chair of Neuronal Cell Biology University of Edinburgh

Prof Markus Reuber

Professor of Neuropsychiatry University of Sheffield

Prof John Duncan

Principle Clinical Research Fellow at University College London Queen Square Institute of Neurology

Prof Joanne Knight

Chair in Applied Data Science at the University of Lancaster

Dr Sam Amin

Consultant Paediatric Neurologist at University Hospitals Bristol Honorary Lecturer at the University of Bristol

Dr Rob Forsyth

Consultant Paediatric Neurologist at Great North Children’s Hospital Senior Lecturer in Child Neurology at Newcastle University

Dr Owen Pickrell

Consultant Neurologist and Honorary Clinical Associate Professor at Swansea University Medical School

Dr Michael Absoud

Consultant in Paediatric Neurodisability & Joint head of service children’s neurosciences; Evelina London Children's Hospital and Adjunct Reader, Dept of Women & Children’s Health; King’s ...

Dr Kate Baker

Programme Leader Track Scientist MRC Cognition and Brain Sciences Unit University of Cambridge

Dr Charlotte Tye

Senior Lecturer at King’s College London

Dr Caroline Witton

Reader in Neurosciences at the Aston Institute of Health & Neurodevelopment at Aston University

Dr Anita McGrogan

Senior Lecturer at the University of Bath

Dr Amy McTague

Clinical Consultant and Principal Research Fellow at University College London Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health

Associate Prof Peter Oliver

Head of Biology at the Medical Research Council (MRC) Nucleic Acid Therapy Accelerator